CEP811- Thrifting and Repurposing

This week in CEP811 I began learning about repurposing technologies using a Makey Makey classic. I bought the starter kit for the project. When the package arrived I opened it up and wasn’t sure what I was looking at. There were wires, wires with clips, and a  small board with a USB cable. I went onto the Makey Makey website which was very helpful in showing me how to get started “playing” in my own makerspace. This play time was very valuable for me as there were no constraints or tasks for me to complete at the time and I was simply allowed to discover during play, possible ideas for my Makey Makey prototype. On the Makey Makey website I came across suggested websites to use with Makey Makey, this is where I found the program Scratch. I also found the inspiration for my prototype which is a DJ booth/turntable.

I have always been interested and marveled at DJ’s and their skills to make and “mix” music. They too use their repurposing skills. So, I set out to make a DJ booth, the given instructions of thrifting and repurposing led me to my basement where I found an unused cardboard box, extra paper plates, and some Play-Doh. Other supplies I needed, were Tin Foil, a box cutter knife, and sharpie markers.

DJ using Makey Makey and Scratch

Step 1: Open your Makey Makey kit and make sure you have: 7 alligator clips, 6 connector wires, 1 USB cable, and the Makey Makey board. 

Step 2: Plug in the big end of the USB cable into your computer and the small end of the cable into the Makey Makey board, the board should light up red.

E70663C8-6414-418B-A4F7-FAECB53480F0

Step 3: Connect an alligator clip to the “Earth part of the Makey Makey board, in my case I used the gray clip. You will either have to hold the other end of the “Earth” clip in order for the DJ booth to work. I wanted to free up both of my hands to “mix” sounds so I connected the gray alligator clip using a white connector to the light green alligator clip and finally into my makeshift Tin Foil headphones. I place the headphones around my neck so I can still be grounded to “Earth” and use the DJ booth.

52CA42A2-835E-4DFA-A897-90ADFDDBB4B30EE287D4-33C9-445E-BCFA-2D96BE04E2D6

Step 4: Google the DJ Scratch program or follow this link here

1685d182-d73d-4e7d-a7cf-256dcf3ff667.jpg

Step 5: Connect the alligator clips to the correct corresponding arrows and space ports on your Makey Makey board.

dd2ed4f3-3717-41c3-9c71-10f6bff049ae.jpg

Step 6: Cut holes into the cardboard box so the wires can reach the Play-Doh and paper plates wrapped in tinfoil.

Step 7: Connect the other end of the alligator clips to the correct Play-Doh buttons and or the paper plates wrapped in tinfoil.

Step 8: Using the “Earth” connected alligator clip by either holding it in your hand or in my case connecting it to Tin Foil and wearing that around your neck you can test your DJ booth. Make sure you are connected to “Earth” which allows a current to flow from you to the other wires connected to the Makey Makey board.

Step 9 (Optional): I wanted to use this DJ booth in my second grade classroom to help students understand repeated patterns so I drew the letters A, B, C, and D next to the Play-Doh buttons and paper plate disc prototypes on my DJ booth.

Below is a short video of me using the DJ Booth/turntable

The play time at the beginning of this project was valuable in that I was able to fail and in the process learn that much more about the kit. I learned what were good conductors, i.e. (Play-Doh, metals, fruits, me) and what were not good conductors, i.e. (plastics, papers, wood). My paper plates were transformed into conductors using some Tin Foil. Without the time to explore, play, fail, and brainstorm my prototype would not have turned out successfully.

I had a lot of fun and enjoyed “playing” and creating using Makey Makey. I could not help but think of how much fun my students would have using not only the DJ booth to learn about patterns but the Makey Makey kit in general. Students could create repeated patterns using the DJ booth and this in turn would create their own unique sound (music). This could be done as an extension activity or used as a math center to practice building and recognizing patterns.

References

Koehler, M. J., & Mishra, P. (2008). Thinking creatively : Teachers as designers of technology, pedagogy & content. [Online video]. Retrieved from https://vimeo.com/39539571

MakeyMakey Quick Start Guide. (2012). Retrieved July 12, 2017, from http://www.makeymakey.com/howto.php

Mishra, P., & The Deep-Play Research Group (2012). Rethinking Technology & Creativity in the 21st Century: Crayons are the Future. TechTrends, 56(5), 13-16.

Leave a comment